WHL announces Lethbridge Hurricanes General Manager Peter Anholt as recipient of Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Watch more on WHL TV >


Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today Peter Anholt, General Manager of the Lethbridge Hurricanes, as the recipient of the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy (WHL Executive of the Year).

In his fifth full season as General Manager of the Hurricanes, Anholt was the architect of a Club that skated to a 37-19-2-5 record through 63 games. The Hurricanes placed third in the WHL’s Central Division and were competitive among the top teams in the WHL’s Eastern Conference. The performance marked the Hurricanes’ fifth-straight season of 30 or more victories, one behind tying the Club record.

Powering them to success were a number of new and familiar faces for the Hurricanes as well as the southern Alberta region. Anholt’s selection of Slovakian forward Oliver Okuliar at the 2019 CHL Import Draft boosted the Hurricanes’ scoring prowess, while the addition of former Hurricane Brett Davis helped to strengthen the Hurricanes down the stretch. Anholt also acquired Dino Kambeitz to provide more offensive options for his group.

Finally, Anholt has built local ties through the WHL Bantam Draft, selecting Lethbridge products Zack Stringer and Erick Roest to complement the team’s promising future.

The Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy honours a WHL Club Executive for their contributions to their team’s overall performance on and off the ice during the WHL Regular Season.

A famed Canadian sports broadcaster, Saunders became known as the radio voice of the Canadian Football League’s Saskatchewan Roughriders. As a commentator and broadcaster, Saunders became the voice of Canadian sport nationally and internationally. Saunders called six Memorial Cup Championships and predominantly called Canadian and World Curling Championships as well. He also commentated at five Olympic Games as well as three Commonwealth Games.

In 1986, Saunders was inducted to Canadian Football Hall of Fame and Museum, Football Reporters of Canada wing. In 1996, he was inducted to the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame as a builder.

RUNNER UP: Matt Bardsley, Kamloops Blazers

Winners of the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy / WHL Executive of the Year Award (since 2000):
2018-19: Curtis Hunt, Prince Albert Raiders
2017-18: Garry Davidson, Everett Silvertips
2016-17: John Paddock, Regina Pats
2015-16: Peter Anholt, Lethbridge Hurricanes
2014-15: Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings
2013-14: Cam Hope, Victoria Royals
2012-13: Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings
2011-12: Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings
2010-11: Lorne Molleken, Saskatoon Blades
2009-10: Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings
2008-09: Kelly Kisio, Calgary Hitmen
2007-08: Bob Tory, Tri-City Americans
2006-07: Bob Tory, Tri-City Americans
2005-06: Scott Bonner, Vancouver Giants
2004-05: Jeff Chynoweth, Kootenay ICE
2003-04: Kelly Kisio, Calgary Hitmen
2002-03: Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets
2001-02: Brad McEwen, Swift Current Broncos
2000-01: Brent Sutter, Red Deer Rebels
1999-00: Tim Speltz, Spokane Chiefs

About the Western Hockey League

Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Thunderbirds acquire rights to 2022 NHL Draft prospect Lambert
2 hours ago
Road To The Draft Player Profile - Tyler Brennan
3 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Kevin Korchinski
5 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Mats Lindgren
5 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Pavel Bocharov
5 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Tyler Brennan
1 day ago