WHL announces Lethbridge Hurricanes as recipient of WHL Business Award

Watch more FEATURES on WHL TV


Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today the Lethbridge Hurricanes Hockey Club as the recipient of the WHL Business Award.

As the premiere sports and entertainment experience in southern Alberta, the Hurricanes have successfully executed new ventures in order to strengthen their roots with fans and communities in southern Alberta.

The hiring of a Fan Experience Coordinator helped to further establish the club’s vision for an engaging game-day experience. Implementation of intermission segments featuring skaters dressed in dinosaur costumes quickly became an online hit and convinced other WHL Clubs to follow the lead set by the Hurricanes.

The curation of the team’s digital content also became a focal point in their outreach efforts. Providing behind-the-scenes access of their Club, the Hurricanes delivered unparalleled access to their players to build positive engagement.

Along with the implementation of new ticketing software to make online ticket sales more accessible to fans, the Hurricanes saw growth in their number of season tickets sold as well as an overall growth in attendance.

An innovative approach to community relations has also benefitted the entire region of southern Alberta, further cementing the Hurricanes’ role in the region. In addition to contributing over $163,000 to local communities and organizations, the Hurricanes placed their focus on extending their community outreach beyond Lethbridge’s city limits.

Executing initiatives in rural communities such as Coaldale, Magrath, and Raymond, the Hurricanes provided presentations on leadership, anti-bullying, financial literacy, and concussion awareness. They also connected with the rural communities through attending minor hockey practices, helping to build positive skills on and off the ice.

RUNNER UP: Seattle Thunderbirds

Winners of the WHL Business Award (since 2000):
2018-19: Everett Silvertips
2017-18: Edmonton Oil Kings
2016-17: Regina Pats
2015-16: Victoria Royals
2014-15: Kelowna Rockets
2013-14: Seattle Thunderbirds
2012-13: Kamloops Blazers
2011-12: Corey Nyhagen, Moose Jaw Warriors
2010-11: Mike Moore, Calgary Hitmen
2009-10: Zoran Rajcic, Everett Silvertips
2008-09: Mike Bortolussi, Medicine Hat Tigers
2007-08: Kip Reghenas, Calgary Hitmen
2006-07: Bruce Vance, Prince Albert Raiders
2005-06: Dave Andjelic, Medicine Hat Tigers
2004-05: Roger Lemire, Vancouver Giants
2003-04: Mark Stiles, Calgary Hitmen
2002-03: Anne-Marie Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets & Reid Pedersen, Regina Pats
2001-02: Greg McConkey, Red Deer Rebels
2000-01: Mark Miles, Spokane Chiefs
1999-00: Mike Jenkins, Prince Albert Raiders

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Tough sledding for WHL competitors on Day 4 of Memorial eCup
16 hours ago
Media Availability: Connor Bedard, Regina Pats
18 hours ago
CHL Memorial eCup presented by Kia: Highlights – Wednesday, December 2
19 hours ago
Hayes displays veteran savvy as Raiders advance to Round 2 of Memorial eCup
2 days ago
WHL Next Generation: Caleb Reimer
2 days ago
WHL Podcast – Episode 19: Gord Bamford & Caleb Reimer
2 days ago