WHL announces Edmonton Oil Kings Head Coach Brad Lauer as recipient of Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy Presented by McSweeney’s

Watch more FEATURES on WHL TV


Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today Brad Lauer, Head Coach of the Edmonton Oil Kings, has been named the recipient of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy (WHL Coach of the Year) Presented by McSweeney’s Premium Jerky & Meat Snacks.

Lauer led the Oil Kings to a WHL Central Division-best record of 42-12-6-4 (94 points) in his second season behind the bench in Edmonton. Under the guidance of the 53-year-old native of Humboldt, Sask., the Oil Kings have claimed back-to-back Central Division titles. In his two seasons behind the bench with the Oil Kings, they have compiled a record of 84-30-10-8 across 132 WHL regular season games.

“As a proud partner of the WHL, McSweeney’s is proud to congratulate Brad Lauer of the Edmonton Oil Kings, winner of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy as WHL Coach of the Year,” said Kylie Landry, Brand Manager McSweeney’s Premium Jerky & Meat Snacks.

The Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy for WHL Coach of the Year is presented annually to the WHL coach who has had the greatest impact upon his Club’s performance during the WHL Regular Season. The trophy is named in memory of Dunc McCallum, the legendary Brandon Wheat Kings Head Coach, who was twice named WHL Coach of the Year while building the Wheat Kings into a WHL powerhouse in the 1970s. From 1976 to 1981, McCallum compiled an impressive regular season record of 251-123-41 while behind the bench of the Wheat Kings.

As the recipient of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy Presented by McSweeney’s Premium Jerky & Meat Snacks, Lauer is now a nominee for the Sofina Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award as the Canadian Hockey League’s Coach of the Year.

RUNNER UP: Dennis Williams, Everett Silvertips

Winners of the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy / WHL Coach of the Year (since 2000):
2018-19: Marc Habscheid, Prince Albert Raiders
2017-18: Manny Viveiros, Swift Current Broncos
2016-17: John Paddock, Regina Pats
2015-16: Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals
2014-15: John Paddock, Regina Pats
2013-14: Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals
2012-13: Ryan McGill, Kootenay ICE
2011-12: Jim Hiller, Tri-City Americans*
2010-11: Don Nachbaur, Spokane Chiefs
2009-10: Mark Holick, Kootenay ICE
2008-09: Don Hay, Vancouver Giants
2007-08: Don Nachbaur, Tri-City Americans
2006-07: Cory Clouston, Kootenay ICE
2005-06: Willie Desjardins, Medicine Hat Tigers*
2004-05: Cory Clouston, Kootenay ICE*
2003-04: Kevin Constantine, Everett Silvertips
2002-03: Marc Habscheid, Kelowna Rockets*
2001-02: Bob Lowes, Regina Pats*
2000-01: Brent Sutter, Red Deer Rebels*
1999-00: Todd McLellan, Swift Current Broncos

*Denotes CHL Coach of the Year recipient

About the Western Hockey League

Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Winterhawks forward Jarvis benefits from breakout season
3 hours ago
WHL Podcast – Episode 13: Jake Neighbours, Derek Ryan, Ozzy Wiesblatt
1 day ago
Pats acquire defenceman Tom Cadieux from Tri-City
2 days ago
2021 IIHF World Junior Championship to begin Christmas Day in Edmonton
2 days ago
Raiders defenceman Guhle signs entry-level contract with Montreal Canadiens
2 days ago
WHL Alumni Matthew Wedman signs AHL deal with Charlotte Checkers
3 days ago