WHL announces Edmonton Oil Kings forward Dylan Guenther as recipient of Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy Presented by Wawanesa Insurance

Watch more FEATURES on WHL TV


Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today Dylan Guenther, forward of the Edmonton Oil Kings, has been named the recipient of the Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy (WHL Rookie of the Year) Presented by Wawanesa Insurance.

“Wawanesa Insurance is proud to present the Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy to Dylan Guenther of the Edmonton Oil Kings,” said Selena Hinds, Vice President of Brand, Communications and Community for Wawanesa Insurance. “Although the season was abbreviated, fans still had the opportunity to see some terrific hockey, with Dylan Guenther’s skill really standing out. We are excited to see what the future holds for you, Dylan – way to go!”

Guenther is the first player from the Oil Kings to ever earn the honour.

The first-overall selection at the 2018 WHL Bantam Draft, Guenther excelled for his hometown Oil Kings throughout the 2019-20 WHL Regular Season. With the Oil Kings repeating as Central Division champions, the 17-year-old Guenther recorded 59 points (26G-33A) in 58 games, including eight power-play goals and three game-winning goals. Guenther led his team in goals, ranked fourth in assists, and was third overall in scoring.

Among WHL rookies, Guenther ranked third in goals, tied for second in assists, and was second in overall scoring. Guenther was one of four WHL rookies to produce at better than a point-per-game pace throughout the regular season.

As part of 14 multi-point efforts throughout the regular season, Guenther recorded three multi-goal games. On February 25, 2020, Guenther recorded the first hat trick of his WHL career at home against the Winnipeg ICE.

From January 17 to February 7, 2020, Guenther enjoyed an eight-game point streak where he recorded 11 points (4G-7A). Guenther was named the WHL Rookie of the Month for February 2020.

In his WHL career, the 6-foot-1, 170-pound Guenther has appeared in 66 WHL regular season games, recording 63 points (29G-34A). During the 2019 WHL Playoffs, Guenther appeared in three games with the Oil Kings.

The Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy is presented annually to the player whose performance in their first season is deemed to be the most outstanding among all rookies.

A former owner of the Saskatoon Blades, Jim Piggott played a direct role in the formation of the Western Canadian Hockey League, now known as the WHL. Along with Del Wilson, Piggott played a critical role in the unification of all three Major Junior leagues across Canada into what is now known as the Canadian Hockey League.

As the recipient of the Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy Presented by Wawanesa Insurance, Guenther is now one of three nominees for the Canadian Hockey League’s Wawanesa Rookie of the Year Award.

RUNNER UP: Logan Stankoven, Kamloops Blazers

Winners of the Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy / WHL Rookie of the Year Award (since 2000):
2018-19: Brayden Tracey, Moose Jaw Warriors
2017-18: Dylan Cozens, Lethbridge Hurricanes
2016-17: Aleksi Heponiemi, Swift Current Broncos
2015-16: Matthew Phillips, Victoria Royals
2014-15: Nolan Patrick, Brandon Wheat Kings
2013-14: Nick Merkley, Kelowna Rockets
2012-13: Seth Jones, Portland Winterhawks
2011-12: Sam Reinhart, Kootenay ICE
2010-11: Mathew Dumba, Red Deer Rebels
2009-10: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Red Deer Rebels
2008-09: Brett Connolly, Prince George Cougars*
2007-08: Brayden Schenn, Brandon Wheat Kings
2006-07: Kyle Beach, Everett Silvertips
2005-06: Peter Mueller, Everett Silvertips
2004-05: Tyler Plante, Brandon Wheat Kings
2003-04: Gilbert Brule, Vancouver Giants
2002-03: Matt Ellison, Red Deer Rebels*
2001-02: Braydon Coburn, Portland Winterhawks
2000-01: Scottie Upshall, Kamloops Blazers*
1999-00: Dan Blackburn, Kootenay ICE*

*Denotes CHL Rookie of the Year recipient

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Pats captain Bedard named WHL Player of the Week
9 hours ago
Rebels netminder Kelsey named WHL Goaltender of the Week
9 hours ago
Cam Neely honoured with Winterhawks jersey retirement
9 hours ago
Highlights: Silvertips (2) at Chiefs (3)
24 hours ago
Highlights: Giants (2) at Americans (5)
24 hours ago
Highlights: Raiders (1) at ICE (6)
24 hours ago