Warriors’ Almeida named Bumper to Bumper CHL Sportsman of the Year

Watch more FEATURES on WHL TV


Halifax, N.S. – The Bumper to Bumper CHL Sportsman of the Year hails from the Western Hockey League for the second consecutive season and the third time in the past five seasons.

Justin Almeida of the Moose Jaw Warriors was recognized with the honour on Saturday at the 2019 CHL Awards in Halifax.

The 20-year-old product of Kitimat, B.C., finished third in WHL scoring with 111 points (33G-78A) and registered the fewest penalty minutes (14) among the top-15 scorers in the league.

Originally selected by the Prince George Cougars in the first round (fifth overall) of the 2014 WHL Bantam Draft, Almeida has played in 256 career WHL regular season games, registering 243 points (89G-154A) along the way.

In 28 career WHL Playoff games, the 5-foot-11, 160-pound pivot has collected another 15 points (8G-7A).

A prospect of the Pittsburgh Penguins, Almeida was selected in the fifth round (129th overall) at the 2018 NHL Draft.

CLICK HERE for more on the 2019 CHL Awards.

Previous WHL winners of the Bumper to Bumper CHL Sportsman of the Year award:

2017-18: Aleksi Heponiemi, Swift Current Broncos
2014-15: Rourke Chartier, Kelowna Rockets
2013-14: Sam Reinhart, Kootenay ICE
2011-12: Mark Stone, Brandon Wheat Kings
2009-10: Jason Bast, Moose Jaw Warriors
2005-06: Kris Russell, Medicine Hat Tigers
1998-99: Matt Kinch, Calgary Hitmen
1997-98: Cory Cyrenne, Brandon Wheat Kings
1996-97: Kelly Smart, Brandon Wheat Kings
1995-96: Hnat Domenichelli, Kamloops Blazers
1992-93: Rick Girard, Swift Current Broncos
1990-91: Pat Falloon, Spokane Chiefs

More News
WHL Alumni Spotlight: Fix-Wolansky reflecting on rollercoaster pro campaign
14 hours ago
CHL to announce 2019-20 award winners May 28 to June 10
15 hours ago
WHL Alumni Spotlight: Sheldon Kennedy named to Canada's Sports Hall of Fame
16 hours ago
WHL Alumni Jake Bean named recipient of Eddie Shore Award
23 hours ago
WHL Classics: Calgary Hitmen at Kootenay ICE
1 day ago
WHL Alumni Leon Draisaitl wins Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring champ
2 days ago