Jeff Ingram named recipient of Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy as WHL Official of the Year

Watch more FEATURES on WHL TV


Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today Jeff Ingram has been named the recipient of the Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy (WHL Official of the Year).

Ingram, who first officiated in the WHL during the 2007-08 WHL Season, recently completed his 11th full season as a referee in the WHL.

Residing in Langley, B.C., Ingram has taken a special approach to officiating, emphasizing positive and respectful interactions with players as well as Head Coaches throughout the league. The 34-year-old has refereed 606 WHL regular season games and 94 WHL playoff games.

Since 2015, Ingram has been an integral part of the officiating crew for five-straight WHL Championship Series. He also refereed at the 2016 Memorial Cup in Red Deer, Alta. and 2018 Memorial Cup in Regina, Sask.

Ingram has refereed three other national championships, including the U SPORTS men’s hockey championship in 2012. Internationally, Ingram has represented Canada as part of the officiating crew at a number of international tournaments, including the 2016 IIHF U18 World Championship in Grand Forks, North Dakota and the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship in Vancouver and Victoria, B.C.

Named in honour of former WHL Referee Allen Paradice, the award recognizes the league’s top on-ice official and is voted upon annually by WHL General Managers and Head Coaches.

In addition to his many years of service at the WHL, Paradice refereed a number of large events in Canadian Major Junior hockey, including the 1977 Memorial Cup in Vancouver, B.C. During the 1980s, Paradice served as the WHL’s Director of Officiating.

Winners of the Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy / WHL Official of the Year (since 2000):
2018-19: Brett Iverson
2017-18: Brett Iverson
2016-17: Brett Iverson
2015-16: Chris Schlenker
2014-15: Reagan Vetter
2013-14: Nathan Wieler
2012-13: Nathan Wieler
2011-12: Pat Smith
2010-11: Matt Kirk
2009-10: Chris Savage
2008-09: Chris Savage
2007-08: Andy Thiessen
2006-07: Andy Thiessen
2005-06: Kyle Rehman
2004-05: Rob Matsuoka
2003-04: Rob Matsuoka
2002-03: Steve Kozari
2001-02: Kevin Acheson
2000-01: Kevin Acheson
1999-00: Mike Hasenfratz

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
WHL Top 10 - March 31, 2023
9 hours ago
WHL Radio Show - March 31, 2023
13 hours ago
Broncos forward Filmon signs with New Jersey Devils
13 hours ago
2023 WHL Playoffs presented by Nutrien open tonight
13 hours ago
SERIES PREVIEW: (8) Kelowna Rockets vs. (1) Seattle Thunderbirds
1 day ago
SERIES PREVIEW: (8) Medicine Hat Tigers vs. (1) Winnipeg ICE
1 day ago