Ian Scott named 2019 WHL Playoffs MVP

Watch more FEATURES on WHL TV


Prince Albert, Sask. — Prince Albert Raiders goaltender Ian Scott has been named the Most Valuable Player of the 2019 WHL Playoffs.
A product of Calgary, Alta. and prospect of the Toronto Maple Leafs, Scott posted a 16-6-1-0 record, 1.96 goals-against average, .925 save percentage, and five shutouts, to lead his team through the 2019 WHL Playoffs. Scott led all four major statistical goaltending categories, also leading all WHL goaltenders with 570 saves throughout the 2019 WHL Playoffs.

The Raiders won a four-game series against the Red Deer Rebels, a six-game series against the Saskatoon Blades, and the Eastern Conference Championship in six games against the Edmonton Oil Kings.

In the seven-game Rogers WHL Championship Series against the Vancouver Giants, the 6-foot-3, 183-pound goaltender posted a 4-3-0-0 record, 2.21 GAA, .915 SV%, and two shutouts. Scott’s top performances came via a 15-save shutout in Game 2 and a 36-save shutout in Game 4.

Scott was named the WHL Player of the Game for Game 4 of the 2019 Rogers WHL Championship Series. He was also named the WHL Eli Wilson Goaltending Goaltender of the Week for the weeks ending April 28, May 5, and May 12. Scott was recognized as the WHL Vaughn Goaltender of the Month for April 2019.

The Raiders selected Scott in the first round, ninth overall, of the 2014 WHL Bantam Draft. The 20-year-old Scott has played his entire career in Prince Albert, including 175 WHL regular season contests, posting an 87-64-9-5 record, 2.90 GAA, .905 SV%, and 11 shutouts. In 31 career post-season outings, Scott has posted a 19-8-3-0 record, 2.32 GAA, .916 SV%, and five shutouts.

Scott was selected by the Maple Leafs in the fourth round, 110th overall, of the 2017 NHL Draft and signed a three-year, entry-level contract with the NHL team in December 2018.

WHL Playoffs MVP Winners:
2018 Glenn Gawdin, Swift Current
2017 Mathew Barzal, Seattle
2016 Nolan Patrick, Brandon
2015 Leon Draisaitl, Kelowna
2014 Griffin Reinhart, Edmonton
2013 Ty Rattie, Portland
2012 Laurent Brossoit, Edmonton
2011 Nathan Lieuwen, Kootenay
2010 Martin Jones, Calgary
2009 Tyler Myers, Kelowna
2008 Tyler Johnson, Spokane
2007 Matt Keetley, Medicine Hat
2006 Gilbert Brule, Vancouver
2005 Shea Weber, Kelowna
2004 Kevin Nastiuk, Medicine Hat
2003 Jesse Schultz, Kelowna
2002 Duncan Milroy, Kootenay
2001 Shane Bendera, Red Deer
2000 Dan Blackburn, Kootenay
1999 Brad Moran, Calgary
1998 Brent Belecki, Portland
1997 Blaine Russell, Lethbridge
1996 Bobby Brown, Brandon
1995 Nolan Baumgartner, Kamloops
1994 Steve Passmore, Kamloops
1993 Andrew Schneider, Swift Current
1992 Jarrett Deuling, Kamloops

The Prince Albert Raiders will now represent the WHL at the 2019 Memorial Cup presented by Kia in Halifax, N.S, from May 17 to 26.

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Road To The Draft Player Profile - Owen Pickering
3 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Mason Beaupit
3 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Hudson Thornton
3 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft Highlight Reel - Charlie Wright
3 hours ago
WHL Clubs select 23 players from nine nations in 2022 CHL Import Draft
24 hours ago
Tigers select Slovak forward Sykora first overall in 2022 CHL Import Draft
1 day ago