WINTERHAWKS ADVANCE TO MEET KOOTENAY ICE IN WHL CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES – The Portland Winterhawks were crowned 2011 WHL Western Conference Champions after posting a 6-3 victory over the Spokane Chiefs in Game 6 of the Kal Tire WHL Western Conference Championship series on Monday night in Spokane, WA.

The victory in Game 6 in Spokane gives the Winterhawks a 4-2 best-of-seven series win over the Chiefs.  It’s the first Western Conference title for the Hawks since the 2000-01 season.

The Winterhawks will now face the Husky WHL Eastern Conference Champion Kootenay Ice for the Ed Chynoweth Cup and a berth in the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup tournament in Mississauga, ON.

Sven Bartschi and Craig Cunningham each tallied a goal and two assists for the Winterhawks while Ty Rattie, Nino Niederreiter and Ryan Johansen each picked up a goal and an assist in the Game 6 win.  Troy Rutkowski – with his third of the post-season – also counted for the Hawks.

Marek Kalus, Mike Aviani and Levko Koper scored for the Chiefs, who went into the third period with the score tied at 3-3 but gave up three goals in the final frame in the loss.

Mac Carruth turned aside 24 of 27 shots he faced in the win for the Winterhawks. James Reid stopped 32 of 38 shots in a losing cause for the Chiefs.

Portland wins best-of-seven series 4-2

Game Summary

Photo Gallery


More News
Tough sledding for WHL competitors on Day 4 of Memorial eCup
2 mins ago
Media Availability: Connor Bedard, Regina Pats
3 hours ago
CHL Memorial eCup presented by Kia: Highlights – Wednesday, December 2
4 hours ago
Hayes displays veteran savvy as Raiders advance to Round 2 of Memorial eCup
24 hours ago
WHL Next Generation: Caleb Reimer
1 day ago
WHL Podcast – Episode 19: Gord Bamford & Caleb Reimer
1 day ago