Winnipeg ICE announce leadership group for 2019-2020 season

Rob Murray/ Trevor Crawley

Winnipeg, Man. – The Winnipeg ICE Hockey Club announced on Wednesday the leadership group for the 2019-2020 season.

Joining Captain Peyton Krebs will be 2002-born forward Connor McClennon, 2001-born forward Jakin Smallwood and 1999-born defenceman Chase Hartje, all of whom will be assistant captains this season.

Krebs, an Okotoks, Alta. product was named the team’s 23rd captain in franchise history in December 2018. The 5-foot-11, 180-pound centreman is the first-round 2019 NHL Draft pick of the Vegas Golden Knights and was the first-overall selection from the 2016 Western Hockey League Bantam Draft. Last season Krebs totaled 68 points (19G-49A) in 64 regular-season games.

The ICE selected McClennon second overall in the 2017 WHL Bantam Draft. The 5-foot-8, 156-pound Wainwright, Alta. native played his rookie season during the 2018-2019 campaign and notched 29 points (14G-15A). McClennon was also a member of Team Canada at the 2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup.

Smallwood was acquired by the ICE during the 2017-2018 season from the Moose Jaw Warriors. Hailing from Leduc, Alta., the 6-foot-1, 181-pound right wing enters his second season of the WHL after registering 30 points (13G-17A) last year.

Hartje was acquired by the ICE in early January 2019 from the Brandon Wheat Kings. The 5-foot-11, 17-pound Bemidji, Minn. product recorded 26 points (5G-21A) in his 2018-19 campaign.

Winnipeg will begin the 2019-20 WHL Regular Season on Friday, September 20 (6:30 p.m. CT) against the Brandon Wheat Kings at Westoba Place in Brandon, Man.

More News
2020-21 WHL Season Preview: Swift Current Broncos
2 hours ago
Highlights: Oil Kings (3) at Tigers (1)
1 day ago
WHL Highlight of the Night: March 6, 2021
1 day ago
Highlights: Hitmen (2) at Rebels (3) – OT
1 day ago
Highlights: Rebels (0) at Hitmen (2)
2 days ago
Phil Andrews returns as play-by-play voice of Regina Pats
2 days ago