#WHLPlayoffs Tonight: March 24, 2019

Andy Devlin/Edmonton Oil Kings


On March 22, 2019, 16 Western Hockey League teams began play in the 2019 #WHLPlayoffs. Over the next two calendar months, teams will compete with one goal: the right to be called WHL Champions in 2019 and immortalize themselves in WHL history. 

From the first round, regional and divisional rivalries will separate the best from the rest as the field gradually shrinks in the second round and into the Eastern and Western Conference Championships. Finally, two teams will meet in the 2019 Rogers #WHLChampionship Series with the winner able to hoist the Ed Chynoweth Cup. The champions will also earn a berth into the 2019 Memorial Cup presented by Kia, which will be held in Halifax, N.S. from May 16 to 26, 2019.


Medicine Hat Tigers at Edmonton Oil Kings– Scoring & Highlights

Series tied 1-1

Quinn Benjafield broke a 3-3 deadlock late in the third with his first goal of the 2019 WHL Playoffs to lift the Edmonton Oil Kings to a 4-3 win over the Medicine Hat Tigers and split the first two games of their first-round series. Goals by Liam Keeler, Vince Loschiavo, and Carter Souch also featured for Edmonton while a pair of goals from Linus Nassen (Florida Panthers) and a strike from 2019 NHL Draft prospect Brett Kemp counted for the Tigers.

More News
Brandon Wheat Kings finalize coaching staff for 2019-20 WHL Regular Season
12 hours ago
Cougars sign top import pick Filip Koffer
1 day ago
2019 WHL Graduating Class: Week Two
4 days ago
Bowen Byram signs three-year, entry-level contract with Colorado Avalanche
5 days ago
Broncos sign first-overall import selection Kasper Puutio
5 days ago
Brandon Wheat Kings name Dave Lowry head coach
6 days ago