Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League announced today the 2010-11 WHL Western Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Western Conference Finalists for the 2010-11 WHL Awards. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be announced on Wednesday, April 21st, 2011.

The WHL Western Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:


Goaltender – James Reid (Calgary, AB), Spokane Chiefs
Defenceman – Tyson Barrie (Victoria, BC), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Jared Cowen (Allan, SK), Spokane Chiefs
Forward – Brendan Gallagher (Delta, BC), Vancouver Giants
Forward – Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs
Forward – Ryan Johansen (Port Moody, BC), Portland Winterhawks

Goaltender – Calvin Pickard (Winnipeg, MB), Seattle Thunderbirds
Defenceman – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs
Defenceman – Ryan Murray (White City, SK), Everett Silvertips
Forward – Brendan Shinnimin (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City Americans
Forward – Brendan Ranford (Edmonton, AB), Kamloops Blazers
Forward – Ryan Howse (Prince George, BC), Chilliwack Bruins


The WHL announced the Western Conference Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Western Conference – Sven Bartschi (Langenthal, SUI), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Western Conference – James Reid (Calgary, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Western Conference – Tyson Barrie (Victoria, BC), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Western Conference – Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Western Conference – Colin Smith (Edmonton, AB), Kamloops Blazers

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Western Conference –  Don Nachbaur, Spokane Chiefs

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Western Conference – Mike Johnston, Portland Winterhawks

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Western Conference – Jeff Einhorn (Red Deer, AB), Chilliwack Bruins

WHL Marketing / Public Relations Award
Western Conference – Tri-City Americans, Brian Sandy

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Saskatoon Blades:   GP – 72     W – 56      L – 13      OTL – 1      SL – 2  Pts – 115

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Linden Vey – (Wakaw, SK) Medicine Hat Tigers
GP – 69                        G – 46              A – 70               Pts – 116                      PIM – 36

The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2011 WHL Awards Luncheon in Calgary, Alberta on Wednesday, May 4th, 2011.

The WHL will announce the Eastern Conference All-Stars and Awards Finalists tomorrow Thursday, March 24th at a press conference launching the 2011 WHL Playoffs.

Watch tomorrow press conference LIVE on  

More News
Wheat Kings sign import defenceman Yaroslav Busygin
1 day ago
Cougars 50/50 Society donate $4,000 to Northern B.C. Centre for Skating
2 days ago
Hitmen's "Our Namesake" offers behind-the-scenes look at franchise history
2 days ago
2020 WHL Graduating Class: Week Six
4 days ago
WHL announces adjusted start date for 2020-21 Regular Season
5 days ago
Giants Co-Owner Michael Bublé appointed to the Order of British Columbia
6 days ago