Nine WHL Alumni win 2019 Stanley Cup Championship with St. Louis Blues

WHL Archives


Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League is proud to recognize nine WHL Alumni as members of the 2019 Stanley Cup Champion St. Louis Blues.

With a 4-1 victory against the Boston Bruins on Wednesday in Game 7 of the 2019 Stanley Cup Final, the Blues laid claim to their first Stanley Cup in franchise history. Former Saskatoon Blades forward Brayden Schenn (Saskatoon, Sask.) scored the third goal of the game for the Blues while former Medicine Hat Tigers defenceman Jay Bouwmeester (Edmonton, Alta.) earned the primary assist on their first goal of the game.

Schenn contributed 12 points (5G-7A) in 26 games to the Blues’ success throughout the 2019 NHL Playoffs. From the blue line, former Kamloops Blazer Joel Edmundson (Brandon, Man.) contributed seven points (1G-6A) in 22 games while Bouwmeester provided seven assists in 26 games.

Other WHL Alumni crowned as Stanley Cup champions include six staff members, led by interim head coach Craig Berube (Calahoo, Alta. / Medicine Hat Tigers). Al MacInnis, the Blues’ Senior Advisor to the General Manager (Inverness, N.S. / Regina Pats), Director of Player Personnel Rob DiMaio (Calgary, Alta. / Medicine Hat Tigers), Development Coach Glen Wesley (Red Deer, Alta. / Portland Winterhawks) as well as Amateur Scouts Tony Feltrin (Ladysmith, B.C. / Victoria Cougars) and Jesse Wallin (Saskatoon, Sask. / Red Deer Rebels) played roles in the construction of the championship roster.

While nine WHL Alumni are immortalized as Stanley Cup champions, the Stanley Cup finalist Boston Bruins boasted six WHL Alumni. On the ice, the Bruins were represented by captain Zdeno Chara (Trencin, Slovakia / Prince George Cougars), forward Jake DeBrusk (Edmonton, Alta. / Red Deer Rebels), and defencemen Brandon Carlo (Colorado Springs, Colo. / Tri-City Americans). On the Bruins’ staff, President Cam Neely (Comox, B.C. / Portland Winterhawks), Assistant General Manager Scott Bradley (Delta, B.C. / Seattle Thunderbirds), and Amateur Scout Dean Malkoc (Vancouver, B.C. / Swift Current Broncos) played a part in the roster’s formation.

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
WHL announces adjusted start date for 2020-21 Regular Season
23 hours ago
Giants Co-Owner Michael Bublé appointed to the Order of British Columbia
1 day ago
WHL Podcast – Episode 3: Featuring Connor Zary & Connor Rankin
2 days ago
Broncos sign import forward Vladislav Demidovich
2 days ago
Silvertips acquire rights to Michael Abgrall from Oil Kings
3 days ago
125 WHL Alumni competing in 2020 Stanley Cup Qualifiers
3 days ago