Giants owner Toigo to receive W.A.C. Bennett Award Thursday evening


Ron Toigo, Majority Owner, Governor and President of the Vancouver Giants, will be recognized with the W.A.C. Bennett Award on Thursday evening at the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame’s Induction Gala.

Toigo’s tenure in junior hockey started in 1991 when he became the owner of the WHL’s Tri-City Americans. After selling the club in 2000, he became the Majority Owner and President of the Vancouver Giants. He also continues to serve on the Executive Committee for the WHL’s Board of Governors.

The Tsawwassen, B.C. resident played a major role in bringing 2006 IIHF World Junior Championship to Vancouver. He served as both the head of the Bid Committee and later the tournament Chair for what is widely regarded as one of the most successful World Junior hockey tournaments in the history of the event. Most recently, Toigo co-chaired the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship in Vancouver and Victoria. Under his leadership, the Vancouver Giants also hosted and captured the 2007 Memorial Cup.

Some of Ron Toigo’s additional sports honours include: An induction into the BC Hockey Hall Of Fame in 2017 and an induction into the Delta Sports Hall of Fame in 2010. During his tenure at Majority Owner and President of the Vancouver Giants, his team captured the 2006 WHL Championship.

Other previous winners of the W.A.C. Bennett Award include:

Alex Nelson (2018)
David Sidoo (2017)
Arthur Griffiths (2016)
Pat Quinn (2013)
May Brown (2012)
Marty Zlotnik (2011)
Gordon Shrum (2008)
John Wilson ‘Jack’ Poole (2005)
John Furlong (2004)
Nat Bailey (2003)
Peter J.G. Bentley (1999)
Franz Wilhelmsen (1998)
Frank Griffiths, Sr. (1997)
Eugene Reimer (1993)
Jack Diamond (1989)
Rick Hansen (1987)
Charles N. ‘Chunky’ Woodward (1986)
Bill Cunningham (1983)
Terry Fox (1980)

More News
Vancouver Giants to add Bonner to Wall of Honour
14 hours ago
WHL Next Generation: Cole Sillinger
18 hours ago
Blazers name Robbie Sandland as Director of Player Personnel
2 days ago
Vancouver Giants announce extensions for Terry Bonner & Daryl Anning
2 days ago
Cougars hire Steve O'Rourke as Director of Player Development
2 days ago
WHL Next Generation: Graham Sward
2 days ago