Calgary, AB — The Western Hockey League today announced that Everett Silvertips Center Zach Hamill has captured the Bob Clarke Trophy as the WHL’s Top Scorer.
rHamill, an 18-year-old product of Port Coquitlam, B. C., earned the WHL scoring title by tallying 32 goals and 61 assists for 93 points in 69 games this season. He becomes the first member of the Silvertips to win the Bob Clarke Trophy as the WHL’s top scorer.
rThe 5’11”, 190-pound center led the WHL with 61 assists and was third in the League in points per game average at 1.37. Hamill also enjoyed the longest point streak in the WHL this season, earning at least a point in 15 straight games.
rHamill’s outstanding season also included being named the Husky WHL Player of the Month for January and the BOSTON PIZZA WHL Player of the Week for the week of January 22nd – 28th.
rHamill, who is eligible for the 2007 NHL entry draft, has played 183 regular-season games games with the Everett Silvertips, and leads the franchise with 61 goals, 126 assists, and 187 points.
rBob Clarke captured the League Scoring title in both years he played in the Western Hockey League with the Flin Flon Bombers. In 1967-68, he recorded 51 goals and 168 points in 59 games, and in 1968-69, he scored 51 goals and 137 points in 58 games. In 1968-69, Clarke led the Bombers to victory in the WHL Championship.
rClarke went on to play 15 seasons with the NHL’s Philadelphia Flyers. He won two Stanley Cups, three Hart Memorial Trophies as the NHL’s MVP, the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey and the Selke Trophy as the NHL’s top defensive forward.
rBob Clarke Trophy – Top Scorer Winners
r2006-07 Zach Hamill, Everett Silvertips
r2005-06 Troy Brouwer, Moose Jaw
r2004-05 Eric Fehr, Brandon
r2003-04 Tyler Redenbach, Swift Current
r2002-03 Erik Christensen, Kamloops
r2001-02 Nathan Barrett, Lethbridge
r2000-01 Justin Mapletoft, Red Deer
r1999-00 Brad Moran, Calgary
r1998-99 Pavel Brendl, Calgary
r1997-98 Sergei Varlamov, Swift Current
r1996-97 Todd Robinson, Portland
r1995-96 Mark Deyell, Saskatoon
r1994-95 Daymond Langkow, Tri-Cities
r1993-94 Lonny Bohonos, Portland
r1992-93 Jason Krywulak, Swift Current
r1991-92 Kevin St. Jacques, Lethbridge
r1990-91 Ray Whitney, Spokane
r1989-90 Len Barrie, Kamloops
r1988-89 Dennis Holland, Portland
r1987-88 Theoren Fleury, M.J. (Tie)
r Joe Sakic, Swift Current (Tie)
r1986-87 W – Rob Brown, Kamloops
r E – Craig Endean, Regina
r1985-86 Rob Brown, Kamloops
r1984-85 Cliff Ronning, New Westminister
r1983-84 Ray Ferraro, Brandon
r1982-83 Dale Derkatch, Regina
r1981-82 Jock Callander, Regina
r1980-81 Brian Varga, Regina
r1979-80 Doug Wickenheiser, Regina
r1978-79 Brian Propp, Brandon
r1977-78 Brian Propp, Brandon
r1976-77 Bill Derlago, Brandon
r1975-76 Bernie Federko, Saskatoon
r1974-75 Mel Bridgman, Victoria
r1973-74 Ron Chipperfield, Brandon
r1973-73 Tom Lysiak, Medicine Hat
r1971-72 Tom Lysiak, Medicine Hat
r1970-71 Chuck Arnason, Flin Flon
r1969-70 Reg Leach, Flin-Flon
r1968-69 Bobby Clarke, Flin Flon
r1967-68 Bobby Clarke, Flin Flon
r1966-67 Gerry Pinder, Saskatoon

More News
Rockets forward Cristall named WHL Player of the Week
5 hours ago
ICE netminder Hauser named WHL Goaltender of the Week
5 hours ago
2022 NHL Prospect Watch - Toronto Maple Leafs
8 hours ago
Highlights: Royals (0) at Silvertips (4)
17 hours ago
WHL Highlight of the Night - October 2, 2022
22 hours ago
Real Canadian Superstore Save of the Night - October 2, 2022
22 hours ago