Canucks prospect Bains wins Bob Clarke Trophy as 2021-22 WHL Top Scorer

Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today Red Deer Rebels forward Arshdeep Bains (Surrey, B.C.) has won the Bob Clarke Trophy as WHL Top Scorer presented by Kubota Canada.

The Vancouver Canucks prospect led all WHL skaters with 69 assists and 112 points during the regular season, also finishing second in the League with 10 game-winning goals.

The product of Surrey, B.C. was held off the scoresheet only 13 times from his 68 games played in 2021-22 while recording three or more points 17 times during the regular season.

 The 6-foot-1, 184-pound forward enjoyed five scoring streaks of six games or longer, accented by a 14-game scoring streak from March 5 to April 16, 2022 in which Bains tallied 32 points (20G-12A).

“Kubota Canada Ltd. is really pleased to be a partner of the CHL and WHL,” said Steve Sweetnam, Director of Marketing for Kubota Canada. “We are honoured to be able to present the Bob Clarke Trophy to Arshdeep Bains of the Red Deer Rebels, recognizing his success as top scorer for the WHL this season.”

Bains is the second Red Deer Rebel to capture the Bob Clarke Trophy as WHL Top Scorer, joining Justin Mapletoft, who won the award in 2000-01.

Bains graduates from the WHL having spent his entire career with the Rebels after making his WHL debut with the Club December 15, 2017. In 257 regular season games, all with Red Deer, he totalled 209 points (77G-132A).

Bains signed an entry-level contract with the Vancouver Canucks in March of 2022.

The Bob Clarke Trophy, awarded annually to the WHL’s Top Scorer, is named after the WHL and NHL legend known to many as one of the toughest and most skilled to ever play the game. Clarke played two seasons in the WHL and captured the WHL scoring title in both those campaigns. The 1967-68 WHL season saw Clarke collect an astounding 168 points (51G-117A) in 59 appearances. During the 1968-69 season, Clarke registered 137 points (51G-86A) in only 58 games as he helped his hometown Flin Flon Bombers claim the 1969 WHL Championship.

From there, the product of Flin Flon, Man., went on to play 15 NHL seasons with the Philadelphia Flyers, including captaining the Club to two Stanley Cup Championships. He was awarded the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP on three occasions and was named an NHL All-Star four times.

Winners of the Bob Clarke Trophy / WHL Top Scorer (since 2002)
2021-22: Arshdeep Bains, Red Deer Rebels
2020-21: Peyton Krebs, Winnipeg ICE
2019-20: Adam Beckman, Spokane Chiefs
2018-19: Joachim Blichfeld, Portland Winterhawks
2017-18: Jayden Halbgewachs, Moose Jaw Warriors *
2016-17: Sam Steel, Regina Pats *
2015-16: Adam Brooks, Regina Pats
2014-15: Oliver Bjorkstrand, Portland Winterhawks
2013-14: Mitch Holmberg, Spokane Chiefs
2012-13: Brendan Leipsic, Nicolas Petan, Portland Winterhawks (tie) *
2011-12: Brendan Shinnimin, Tri-City Americans
2010-11: Linden Vey, Medicine Hat Tigers *
2009-10: Brandon Kozun, Calgary Hitmen *
2008-09: Casey Pierro-Zabotel, Vancouver Giants
2007-08: Mark Santorelli, Chilliwack Bruins
2006-07: Zach Hamill, Everett Silvertips
2005-06: Troy Brouwer, Moose Jaw Warriors
2004-05: Eric Fehr, Brandon Wheat Kings
2003-04: Tyler Redenbach, Swift Current Broncos
2002-03: Erik Christensen, Kamloops Blazers
2001-02: Nathan Barrett, Lethbridge Hurricanes

* Also won CHL Top Scorer Award

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 375 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Memorial Cup Game 4: Player to Watch - Kevin Korchinski
3 hours ago
Memorial Cup Media Availability - Shaun Clouston
5 hours ago
Memorial Cup Gameday Preview - Thunderbirds vs. Remparts
7 hours ago
Thunderbirds Game Day Media - Matt O'Dette
8 hours ago
Thunderbirds Game Day Media - Kevin Korchinski
8 hours ago
Thunderbirds Game Day Media - Jared Davidson
8 hours ago