Blazers’ Garand named WHL Western Conference Scholastic Player of the Year


Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today that Kamloops Blazers goaltender Dylan Garand has been named the WHL Western Conference Scholastic Player of the Year and nominee for the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy presented by CIBC.

The 17-year-old product of Victoria, B.C. is enrolled at Valleyview Secondary School and has achieved a high academic standing. Maintaining an overall academic average of 96.5 percent, Garand is set to graduate with honours in June 2020.

In his core Grade 12 courses, Garand has maintained a 93 percent average to provide leadership among his teammates in the classroom. In his Grade 11 and 12 years of study, Garand has completed 16 total courses to enrich his academic experience.

Despite a rising profile on the ice, which has commanded his presence at the 2018 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, 2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup, and 2020 Kubota CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game, Garand has remained focused on his educational commitments with a proactive approach to learning.

“Dylan is respected by his teammates as well as our staff, both as an excellent academic student and he provides excellent leadership,” said Victor Bifano, Academic Advisor for the Blazers. “He has managed his academics and hockey with a profound degree of maturity.”

This season, Garand backstopped the Blazers to their first B.C. Division title since 2012, posting a 28-10-2-1 record in 42 games. He also maintained a 2.21 goals-against average, 0.921 save percentage, and four shutouts. For his WHL career excluding playoffs, Garand has appeared in 73 games with a 41-19-4-2 record, 2.48 GAA, 0.914 SV%, and five shutouts.

The Blazers chose Garand in the third round (58th overall), of the 2017 WHL Bantam Draft. NHL Central Scouting listed Garand sixth among North American goaltenders in their final rankings.

Committed to recognizing academic excellence, the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy for WHL Scholastic Player of the Year is presented annually to the WHL player who has excelled both in the classroom and on the ice during the WHL Regular Season.

One of Canada’s leading hockey philanthropists, the trophy is named in memory of Mr. Doc Seaman, who played a vital role in establishing the WHL’s Education Program. The program ensures players in the WHL can develop their skills on the ice at the highest level without compromising their academic goals. Since 1993, the WHL Scholarship program has awarded over 6,000 scholarships to graduate players, representing an investment in excess of $25 million by WHL Club Ownership.

First awarded for the 1983-84 WHL season, the Scholastic Player of the Year Trophy was named in honour of Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman in 1996.

The recipient of the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy for WHL Scholastic Player of the Year will be announced on Wednesday, May 13.

Winners of the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy / WHL Scholastic Player of the Year (since 2000):
2018-19: Dustin Wolf, Everett Silvertips
2017-18: Ty Smith, Spokane Chiefs
2016-17: Brian King, Everett Silvertips
2015-16: Tanner Kaspick, Brandon Wheat Kings
2014-15: Nick McBride, Prince Albert Raiders
2013-14: Nelson Nogier, Saskatoon Blades
2012-13: Josh Morrissey, Prince Albert Raiders
2011-12: Reid Gow, Spokane Chiefs
2010-11: Colin Smith, Kamloops Blazers
2009-10: Adam Lowry, Swift Current Broncos
2008-09: Stefan Elliott, Saskatoon Blades
2007-08: Jordan Eberle, Regina Pats
2006-07: Keith Aulie, Brandon Wheat Kings
2005-06: Brennen Wray, Moose Jaw Warriors
2004-05: Gilbert Brule, Vancouver Giants
2003-04: Devan Dubnyk, Kamloops Blazers
2002-03: Brett Dickie, Brandon Wheat Kings
2001-02: Tyler Metcalfe, Seattle Thunderbirds
2000-01: Dan Hulak, Portland Winterhawks
1999-00: Chris Nielsen, Calgary Hitmen

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 350 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Pats captain Bedard named WHL Player of the Week
11 hours ago
Rebels netminder Kelsey named WHL Goaltender of the Week
11 hours ago
Cam Neely honoured with Winterhawks jersey retirement
11 hours ago
Highlights: Silvertips (2) at Chiefs (3)
1 day ago
Highlights: Giants (2) at Americans (5)
1 day ago
Highlights: Raiders (1) at ICE (6)
1 day ago