Blazers forward Stankoven wins Four Broncos Memorial Trophy as 2021-22 WHL Player of the Year

Calgary, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today Kamloops Blazers forward Logan Stankoven (Kamloops, B.C.) has won the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy as WHL Player of the Year presented by Kia Canada.

The Dallas Stars prospect finished third among WHL skaters in scoring during the 2021-22 season with 104 points (45G-59A) from 59 games played. Stankoven recorded three or more points on 18 occasions during the Regular Season, including a pair of five-point games November 3, 2021 and January 29, 2022.

The 5-foot-8, 170-pound forward finished fourth among WHL goal-getters and his nine game-winning goals were good for a share of third place among WHL skaters.

 Stankoven also enjoyed the second-longest point streak in the WHL during the 2021-22 season, registering 39 points (17G-22A) over a 19-game span that stretched from December 8, 2021 to February 19, 2022.

“Thank you to my teammates and coaches for helping me achieve this award,” Stankoven said. “My friends and family also played a huge part as well as Blazer Nation, they play key parts in where I am today.”

“It’s an honour, there are so many other talented player who could have won this award, I’m grateful to win it,” he added.

 “As a proud partner of the CHL and presenting sponsor of the Memorial Cup, Kia is excited to congratulate Logan Stankhoven of the Kamloops Blazers, winner of the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy as the WHL Player of the Year,” said Michael Kopke, Director of Marketing for Kia Canada. “At Kia, we believe in movement that inspires, and Logan exemplifies this in his play. We can’t wait to see more of him on the ice for years to come.”

The product of Kamloops, B.C. is the third member of the Blazers franchise to win the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy and the first Kamloops skater to be named WHL Player of the Year since Jarome Iginla in 1995-96.

The Blazers co-captain has led by example for his hometown Club since he was selected fifth-overall in the 2018 WHL Draft. In 132 WHL regular season games, Stankoven has totalled 163 points (81G-82A), including 19 power-play goals and 17 game-winning goals.

He was selected in the second round of the 2021 NHL Draft by the Dallas Stars, signing an entry-level contract with the NHL Club in September of 2021.

The Four Broncos Memorial Trophy is the most prestigious award of the WHL and recognizes the player whose performance is deemed to be the most outstanding during the WHL Regular Season.

On December 30, 1986, the Swift Current Broncos were involved in a tragic bus crash while travelling to a game in Regina. Trent Kresse, Scott Kruger, Chris Mantyka and Brent Ruff lost their lives as a result of the crash. The Broncos have posthumously retired the numbers of all four players.

The Four Broncos Memorial Trophy serves as a constant memory in honour of the four players to this day.

WHL Player of the Year Nominees
Central Division – Ben King (Vernon, B.C.) – Red Deer Rebels
East Division
– Connor Bedard (North Vancouver, B.C.) – Regina Pats
U.S. Division – Olen Zellweger (Fort Saskatchewan, Atla.) – Everett Silvertips

The 2022 WHL Awards were voted on by WHL General Managers and members of the media.

Winners of the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy / WHL Player of the Year (since 2002)
2021-22: Logan Stankoven, Kamloops Blazers
2020-21: Peyton Krebs, Winnipeg ICE
2019-20: Adam Beckman, Spokane Chiefs
2018-19: Joachim Blichfeld, Portland Winterhawks
2017-18: Carter Hart, Everett Silvertips
2016-17: Sam Steel, Regina Pats
2015-16: Dryden Hunt, Moose Jaw Warriors
2014-15: Oliver Bjorkstrand, Portland Winterhawks
2013-14: Sam Reinhart, Kootenay ICE
2012-13: Adam Lowry, Swift Current Broncos
2011-12: Brendan Shinnimin, Tri-City Americans *
2010-11: Darcy Kuemper, Red Deer Rebels
2009-10: Jordan Eberle, Regina Pats *
2008-09: Brett Sonne, Calgary Hitmen
2007-08: Karl Alzner, Calgary Hitmen
2006-07: Kris Russell, Medicine Hat Tigers
2005-06: Justin Pogge, Calgary Hitmen
2004-05: Eric Fehr, Brandon Wheat Kings
2003-04: Cam Ward, Red Deer Rebels
2002-03: Josh Harding, Regina Pats
2001-02:Dan Hamhuis, Prince George Cougars

* Also named CHL Player of the Year

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 17 located in Western Canada and five in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for over 50 years. The WHL is also the leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 375 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team.

More News
Blackhawks prospect Luypen headlines Oil Kings, Americans swap
13 hours ago
Rebels acquire veteran forward Craig Armstrong
15 hours ago
Oil Kings hire Serge Lajoie as Assistant Coach
19 hours ago
Class of 2022 - Kelowna Rockets
19 hours ago
2022 NHL Draft 1-on-1 - Reid Dyck
19 hours ago
Wheat Kings acquire hometown product Anderson from Warriors
2 days ago