51 WHL Graduates to compete in 2017 Canada West Final


Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League is proud to announce that 51 WHL graduate players will compete in the 2017 Canada West Final beginning today at Rutherford Rink in Saskatoon, SK.

The University of Alberta Golden Bears and University of Saskatchewan Huskies are set to challenge in a best-of-three series for the Canada West Universities Athletic Association men’s hockey conference championship before then travelling to Fredericton, NB, for the U Sports University Cup, hosted by the University of New Brunswick from March 16 to 19.

Among the 51 WHL graduates dotting the two rosters are three major Canada West award winners, including former Kelowna Rockets goaltender Jordon Cooke of the Saskatchewan Huskies (Goaltender of the Year), former Moose Jaw Warriors defenceman Jesse Forsberg of the Saskatchewan Huskies (Top Defenceman) and former Kelowna Rockets forward Tyson Baillie of the Alberta Golden Bears (Rookie of the Year).

Ranked second coming out of the Canada West regular season, the Alberta Golden Bears boast 28 WHL graduate players, while the top-ranked Saskatchewan Huskies are paced by 23 WHL graduate players.

The entire Canada West Final can be streamed online at Game 1 is scheduled for Friday, March 3 and Game 2 is scheduled for Saturday, March 4. If necessary, Game 3 will be played Sunday, March 5. Puck drop for each contest is scheduled for 7 p.m. CT/6 p.m. MT.

The 51 WHL graduates competing in the 2017 Canada West Final are representative of over 365 WHL Scholarship recipients furthering their education.

Administered by the WHL Office, the WHL Scholarships are solely funded by the member Clubs of the WHL. This season, WHL Clubs will contribute in excess of $2 million to graduates utilizing the WHL Scholarship.

“The WHL and our member Clubs are very proud to continue offering our players the most comprehensive hockey scholarship program of its kind in North America today,” stated WHL Commissioner Ron Robison. “WHL Clubs are fully committed to providing a world class experience for our players which includes the opportunity to pursue both their academic and hockey goals while playing at the top level of the Canadian amateur hockey system.”

Every player who plays in the WHL is eligible to receive the WHL Scholarship.  For every season a player plays in the WHL, they receive a guaranteed, full-year WHL Scholarship including tuition, textbooks and compulsory fees to a post-secondary institution of their choice. The WHL Scholarship is a fully-guaranteed academic scholarship with no requirement to play university hockey to qualify, and the student-athlete can apply the funding to any post-secondary or career-enhancing program of his choice, including trade schools and professional career training programs.

In addition, current WHL players also receive financial assistance for enrolling in post-secondary classes while playing in the WHL, many of whom are taking online courses through Athabasca University. The WHL and Athabasca University have partnered to offer, through online and other distance education platforms, fully-accredited university courses to any WHL player interested in further pursuing post-secondary studies while playing in the WHL.

Fully funded by WHL member Clubs, all players currently playing in the WHL are encouraged to enroll in post-secondary courses. The financial assistance received for post-secondary studies while playing does not impact on the WHL Scholarship benefits a WHL player is entitled to upon graduating from the League.

About Canada West:

Canada West is the premier athletic conference in the country and is home to champion student-athletes that excel on the field, in the classroom and in their communities. Canada West and its 17 member institutions commit to a student-athlete experience where competitive excellence, scholarship and sportsmanship contribute equally towards moulding outstanding graduates and community leaders.

Canada West – Training leaders, building champions.

WHL Graduates – Canada West Final

University of Saskatchewan Huskies (23)

Name – Hometown – 2016-17 WHL Scholarship Responsibility
Kohl Bauml – Saskatoon, SK – Everett Silvertips
Tyler Borstmayer – St. Brieux, SK – Regina Pats
Levi Cable – Hudson Bay, SK – Kootenay ICE
Jordon Cooke – Leduc, AB – Kelowna Rockets
Connor Cox – Lethbridge, AB – Saskatoon Blades
Alex Forsberg – Waldheim, SK – Prince George Cougars
Jesse Forsberg – Waldheim, SK – Prince George Cougars
Jordan Fransoo – North Battleford, SK – Brandon Wheat Kings
Connor Gay – Saskatoon, SK – Regina Pats
Colby Harmsworth – Saskatoon, SK – Calgary Hitmen
Andrew Johnson – Saskatoon, SK – Moose Jaw Warriors
Wyatt Johnson – Saskatoon, SK – Red Deer Rebels
MacKenzie Johnston* – Swift Current, SK – Kelowna Rockets
Taran Kozun* – Nipawin, SK – Kamloops Blazers
Tanner Lishchynsky – Saskatoon, SK – Prince George Cougars
Kendall McFaull – Rosetown, SK – Moose Jaw Warriors
Logan McVeigh – Kenaston, SK – Kamloops Blazers
Michael Sofillas – Morden, MB – Lethbridge Hurricanes
Carson Stadnyk – Saskatoon, SK – Everett Silvertips
Lukas Sutter – Lethbridge, AB – Saskatoon Blades
Jordan Tkatch – Prudhomme, SK – Prince George Cougars
Daniel Wapple – Saskatoon, SK – Moose Jaw Warriors
Jaimen Yakubowski – Dalmeny, SK – Lethbridge Hurricanes

University of Alberta Golden Bears (28)

Name – Hometown – WHL Team(s)
Tyson Baillie – Edmonton, AB – Kelowna Rockets
Dylan Bredo – Edmonton, AB – Medicine Hat Tigers
Brendan Burke – Scottsdale, AZ – Portland Winterhawks
Ben Carroll – Sherwood Park, AB – Edmonton Oil Kings
Nick Charif – Edmonton, AB – Red Deer Rebels
Taylor Cooper – Sherwood Park, AB – Brandon Wheat Kings
Trevor Cox – Surrey, BC – Medicine Hat Tigers
Graeme Craig – Red Deer, AB – Swift Current Broncos
Jamie Crooks – Vermillion, AB – Victoria Royals
Josh Derko – Sherwood Park, AB – Swift Current Broncos
Jason Fram – Delta, BC – Spokane Chiefs
Todd Fiddler – Meadow Lake, SK – Prince Albert Raiders
Jayden Hart – Spruce Grove, AB – Medicine Hat Tigers
Riley Kieser – Sherwood Park, AB – Edmonton Oil Kings
Sawyer Lange – Prince Albert, SK – Prince Albert Raiders
Stephane Legault – Edmonton, AB – Edmonton Oil Kings
Cole Linaker – Edmonton, AB – Kelowna Rockets
Brandon Magee* – Edmonton, AB – Victoria Royals
Lucas Nickles – Salmon Arm, BC – Tri-City Americans
Luke Philp – Canmore, AB – Kootenay ICE
Rhett Rachinski – Edmonton, AB – Edmonton Oil Kings
Ryan Rehill – Edmonton, AB – Kamloops Blazers
Cole Sanford – Coldstream, BC – Medicine Hat Tigers
Luke Siemens – Delta, BC – Moose Jaw Warriors
Wil Tomchuk – Fort McMurray, AB – Prince George Cougars
Joel Topping – Red Deer, AB – Lethbridge Hurricanes
Mitch Topping – Red Deer, AB – Victoria Royals
Brennan Yadlowski – Edmonton, AB – Everett Silvertips

*red-shirt season

More News
Seattle Thunderbirds named Western Conference Business of the Year
2 hours ago
Lethbridge Hurricanes named Eastern Conference Business of the Year
3 hours ago
WHL Classics: Seattle Thunderbirds at Kelowna Rockets
4 hours ago
CHL Five Questions: James Hamblin, Medicine Hat Tigers
20 hours ago
WHL On This Day: April 9
21 hours ago
WHL Playlists: Prince George Cougars
23 hours ago