WHL Alumni Mathew Barzal & Deryk Engelland earn hardware at 2018 NHL Awards


A pair of Western Hockey League Alumni in Mathew Barzal and Deryk Engelland were recognized at the 2018 NHL Awards Wednesday night for their significant contributions to the game this season.

Barzal, the rookie phenom and former Seattle Thunderbird, won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL’s best rookie. With 85 points in 82 games, the voting was almost unanimous. The New York Islander’s forward received 160 first place votes, three second place votes and one third place vote out of 164 voters.

The 16th overall pick in the 2015 NHL Draft and 1st overall pick in the 2012 WHL Bantam Draft was an impressive rookie in Seattle as well, posting 54 points (14G-40A) in 59 games in his first season. The Coquitlam, B.C. product finished his WHL career with 278 points (63G-215A) in 202 games. He was a dynamic playoff performer as well, scoring 51 points (12G-39A) in 34 games across two playoff runs, the latter of which he captained the Thunderbirds to their first ever Ed Chynoweth Cup as WHL Champions. Barzal was named the 2017 WHL Playoffs MVP and was also named to the WHL Western All-Star Team that season. His current and previous coaches have nothing but praise for the 21-year old and his drive to succeed.

In addition to winning the Calder Memorial Trophy, Barzal was also named to the NHL Rookie All-Star Team.

Deryk Engelland took home the Mark Messier Memorial Trophy for his leadership on and off the ice. Engelland was key in helping his teammates adjust to life in Las Vegas after being selected in the NHL Expansion Draft. He was also active in the community, supporting those affected by the shooting on October 1st and pledging the teams support to the community.

The former Moose Jaw Warrior had a career year, posting his highest point totals in his ninth NHL season and first with the inaugural Vegas Golden Knights. He’s taken on a leadership role and has been tremendous with his community involvement. The humble defenceman spoke with media after receiving his award, talking about the strength of Las Vegas and the commitment of fellow teammates.

Congratulations to both Mathew and Deryk on your success!

More News
Three WHL Alumni named to B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame's Class of 2019
10 mins ago
WHL Community Collective: East Division
1 hour ago
Saskatchewan and Alberta advance to semifinals at Canada Winter Games
3 hours ago
Insurance Goals of the Week: February 21, 2019
4 hours ago
#CHLPredictor: Week 2 – Pats at Warriors
5 hours ago
Regina Pats Head Trainer Greg Mayer receives WHL Milestone Award
6 hours ago