Kootenay ICE name Peyton Krebs 23rd captain in franchise history

Robert Murray/WHL


The Kootenay ICE Hockey Club announced on Thursday that 2019 NHL Draft prospect Peyton Krebs has been named the team’s new captain and the 23rd captain in franchise history.

With Thursday’s announcement, Krebs is the youngest current captain in the Western Hockey League.

The Okotoks, Alta. native played his first career WHL game on November 16, 2016. Since then, he has played in 101 WHL regular season games, collecting 92 points (29G-63A). As of Thursday, Krebs is tied for the team lead in goals and has the outright lead in assists and points with 32 points (11G-21A).

“Peyton’s work ethic on and off the ice combined with the respect he has earned from the coaching staff and his teammates made it clear that he is ready for this responsibility,” said Head Coach James Patrick. “We are a young group going through a learning process and Peyton is the right person to lead us moving forward. Peyton sets a high standard each and every day and is someone the rest of our young core will continue to learn from.”

Patrick added, “The future of this group and what they can accomplish together is very exciting; Peyton is the right person to lead the way.”

During the 2017-18 season, Krebs finished first in the WHL among rookies with 54 points (17G-37A). He was fourth on the team in scoring as a 16-year-old.

Over the past year, Krebs has represented Canada at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge and at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup. As a member of Team Canada Red, Krebs earned a silver medal at the U-17’s in 2017. Less than one year later, Krebs played a pivotal role in Team Canada winning gold at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup. During that tournament, Krebs collected five points (2G-3A) in five tournament games, including helping set up the overtime-winning goal against the United States in the semi-finals.

“When we started the rebuilding process last season, we knew we would need to be patient, focus on building a young nucleus that could grow together and provide those players with opportunity to develop,” said Matt Cockell, President and General Manager. “We are committed to our plan and it is the right time in that process for our young core, with Peyton’s leadership, to elevate their level of responsibility.”

Cockell added, “There is no better person to lead the team moving forward than Peyton Krebs.”

Here is a list of former ICE captains:

  • John Kachur    1996-1997
  • Steve McCarthy    1998-2000
  • Mike Green    2000
  • Mike Comrie    2000
  • Dean Arsene    2000-2001
  • Jason Jaffray    2001-2002
  • Jarret Stoll    2001-2002
  • Colin Sinclair    2002-2003
  • Nigel Dawes    2003-2005
  • Adam Cracknell    2005-2006
  • Ryan Russell    2006-2007
  • Steve DaSilva    2007-2008
  • Andrew Bailey    2008-2009
  • Dustin Sylvester    2009-2010
  • Brayden McNabb    2010-2011
  • Drew Czerwonka    2011-2012
  • Joey Leach    2013
  • Sam Reinhart    2013-2015
  • Luke Philp    2015-2016
  • Tanner Lishchynsky    2016
  • Cale Fleury    2017
  • Colton Kroeker    2018

The next home game for the ICE is against the Kelowna Rockets on Tuesday, December 11. Tickets are available and can be purchased at the ICE Gear Store at Western Financial Place, by calling 250-417-0322 or online by clicking the link provided >> CLICK HERE

More News
Giants owner Toigo to receive W.A.C. Bennett Award Thursday evening
11 hours ago
Jordan Gustafson signs WHL Standard Player Agreement with Seattle Thunderbirds
14 hours ago
2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia: Game 5 Highlights – Raiders (2) vs. Storm (5)
1 day ago
2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia: Game 5 – Marc Habscheid Post-game
1 day ago
2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia: Game 5 – Raiders Post-game
1 day ago
2019 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia: Raiders dream season concludes in Halifax
1 day ago